As of March 23, 2016, the new name for the European Trademark Office in Alicante, Spain, is European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO).

The Community trademark is now called the European Union trademark.

Under new EU legislation, the fees payable to the Office are revised, including an overall reduction in their amounts, particularly in the case of trademark renewal fees.

Since 1996, EUIPO has processed more than 1,3 million European Union trademarks in 23 EU languages, from nearly every country and region in the word.